Skinny Moose Media Black Bear Blog Blogging Outdoors Daily Bag Limit Desert Rat - AZ On Stand With CG Coyote John - AZ
Audio Pod Casts Video V Casts
Outpost Home
About Us Permanent Staff Contact Us Employment Opportunities
Arizona Home US Hunting Home US Hunting Forums


Go Back   Arizona Hunting Today Forum > Species and Groups > Predators & Furbearers
FAQ VB Image Host Buy/Sell Members List Calendar Arcade Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Predators & Furbearers This forum is for discussion on predator hunting and trapping, which includes: Bobcat, Coyote, Fox, and the Skunk - including discussions of fur-bearing species, such as: Badger, Beaver, Muskrat, Otter, Raccoon, Ring-tail, Coatimundi, Weasel, and even the Wolf.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-27-2010, 05:23 PM
ZonaCats's Avatar
ZonaCats ZonaCats is offline
Member
 

Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Prescott, Az
Posts: 139
Default Coyote hunting w/ holographic or red dot???

Does anybody have any experience using holographic or red dot optics (ex. EOtech, Aimpoint, ACOG) on their coyote hunts? If so, what is your opinion for hunting purposes?

I have a EOtech 512 that I am considering putting on my AR (in place of my standard, variable power, scope). I would guess that these 1x optics would be good for up to about 150 yards (with my skill set anyway, probably greater for someone with more proficiency) I also have a 5x magnifier that I could put behind it, but I like how quick on target it is without it, and I also like the fact that I can keep both eyes open.

So, any experiences / thoughts?
Reply With Quote
Revenue Sharing Ads ( ?):
  #2  
Old 07-27-2010, 06:09 PM
airmark's Avatar
airmark airmark is offline
Supporting Member
 

Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: secret location
Posts: 1,631
Send a message via Yahoo to airmark
Default

i to have a sight like that (in the box) i have also wondered the same question.my thoughts are if you can call them in close enough why not?i have never hunted yotes so i really don't know but it seems like it would work pending on how good you are with it.
__________________
You got it from your father.it was all he had to give you.so its yours to use and cherish.for as long as you may live.if you lose the watch he gave you.it can allways be replaced. but a black mark on your name,son,can never be erased.it was clean the day you took it.and a worthy name to bear. when he got it from his father there was no dishonor there.so make sure you guard it wisely after all is said and done.youll be glad the name is gold when you pass it to your son.......
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-27-2010, 06:41 PM
jhayesvw jhayesvw is offline
Member
 

Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Tucson
Posts: 78
Default

Tmack has a red dot on his coyote ar. He uses a scope and the red dot. It's a great setup for close and far. I will add one eventually.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-27-2010, 07:08 PM
Desert Rat's Avatar
Desert Rat Desert Rat is offline
Super Moderator
 

Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Queen Creek, AZ
Posts: 2,333
Default

Vortex has a couple of models. Great warranty, great prices. Most of the reviews I have heard have been good, but Chief wasn't 100% happy with his - I think his dot wasn't bright enough in sunshine (or maybe dark days).

www.vortexoptics.com
__________________
*Insert something profound and/or witty here*
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-27-2010, 07:14 PM
Red's Avatar
Red Red is offline
Moderator
 

Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Peoria, AZ
Posts: 2,874
Default

I saw fred eichler's boy hit a dog on tv at like 200 yards with one. I'd say they work at a distance.
__________________
RED

MFK GAME CALLS PROSTAFF (FORMERLY TC CUSTOM CALLS)
Made for Killing
MFK TEAM
www.mfkgamecalls.com

Shoot 'em in the FACE!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-27-2010, 07:34 PM
ZonaCats's Avatar
ZonaCats ZonaCats is offline
Member
 

Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Prescott, Az
Posts: 139
Default

I have been looking at the offset mounts that attach to your rail and allow you to mount a red dot at like the 2 o'clock position off the side of your scope. Like this:

http://www.midwayusa.com/viewProduct...tNumber=628995


But I have a hogue free float with no rails and my scope takes up most of my flat top rail space. There is room in between my rings for the offset mount but it would then cover the ejection port... Not to mention, my AR is on the heavy side (ok, it's very heavy ) and that seems like alot of weight to add... Thus why I was considering just ditching the scope and using the EOTech.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-28-2010, 06:59 AM
roadkill46's Avatar
roadkill46 roadkill46 is offline
Supporting Member
 

Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Yuma
Posts: 2,408
Default

I have an aimpoint on my Colt LE AR (223) with a 2x magnifier. works great out to about 300 yards on a static target. most of my coyotes i've take have been within 150 yards. that particular gun has taken 3 dogs out of 3 shots with the aimpoint. As for the Vortex, i have one on my DPMS (223) and could not be happier. you have to get the "Bright Red Dot" not the red/green combo as it was too dim in bright sunlight. the new red only is amazing and no questions asked warranty. my main hunting AR Bushmaster Predator runs a S&B red dot 1.1x4 scope. I love the red dots for fast aquistion and i love the fact that when you have to get on them fast, there they are. where i hunt there is no reason for over a 4x scope anyway, and i mostly use the mossy. hook up that eotech and run it, i think you will like it a lot. the Military has been using eotechs and aimpoints for years and have had some pretty impressive yardage kills with them.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-28-2010, 08:43 AM
Sniper's Avatar
Sniper Sniper is offline
Member
 

Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Mesa
Posts: 193
Default

I also have an aimpoint (4moa, wish it was a 2moa) and have used it hunting a few times but missed at the only opportunity that I had on a real long moving shot. I have an eotech on another ar and really like the 1 moa dot in the center that can be a bit more precise. Both are great and quick and I use them at my work as well with no problems. Like you said, both eyes open would be a big help. I have a 3-9x40 on my R15 that I use for hunting now but only bring it out on maybe 25% of my stands. I always keep it on 3 power but have the option if I need more.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-28-2010, 09:17 AM
tmack's Avatar
tmack tmack is offline
Advanced Member
 

Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Tucson the promised land.
Posts: 586
Default

I use scope and red dot combo on my AR. Love it. It makes it heavy but I'm ok with it. My red dot is on an offset mount on the fore grip. It's a tru-glo and it seems to be holding out to 50 yards. Check my posts. I posted a video and talked about it here. Best of both worlds with a twist of the AR.
__________________
Travis
Coyote Overkill Squad
M1A Predator Hunters of America
SOCOM Division
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-29-2010, 06:57 AM
ROOD's Avatar
ROOD ROOD is offline
Senior Member
 

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Tucson
Posts: 430
Default

I have been thinking about this for awhile. They foregrip on my rifle is already drilled for a short rail at the 1 or 2 oclock position. Im wondering what it would cost to put a cheap red dot on there. The only other thing is I have a harris bipod on it so it doesnt make for good shooting on the fly, hence why I got the scatter gun ready!
__________________
Zac

Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Hunting Guides : Rifle Scopes : Gun Holsters : Binoculars : Range Finders : EOTech Holographic Sights


© 2006 - 2007  Arizona Hunting Today

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.